A Short While in the MFA (Part 4)

Well, my first week of classes have certainly been interesting….especially since there were no classes. It’s a little upsetting because I was looking forward to meeting my new professors and classmates. Luckily, I didn’t start the week off to badly. In fact, the first thing I did was  apply for an internship at a literary agency! Even better, I got an immediate reply for an interview!

Can you Imagine getting that email right after submitting an application? I’ve never applied for something like that and it was so nerve racking. You can’t imagine how many times I wrote that email over and over and over and over…oh my god. When I finally got the courage to push that send button, I set up a day to meet my interviewer (the founder of the agency) and we talked. We had bagels, talked about books, experiences, and it was fantastic.

But I didn’t get the job. And that’s not a bad thing. When I met with them I found that this is all about meeting people. She just wanted to get to know me. I did all the things I read online about, the eye contact and put in how much you would like to work there, say what you now about them, etc. In all honesty, I really enjoyed meeting someone who loved books as much or even more than I did. It also helped that I wrote a good cover letter and resume.

Seriously, work on that thing. It will save your life!

Anyway, interview aside I got a rejection letter/email, but a kind one. One where my interviewer really seemed to want to work with me, but it turned out the wouldn’t need an intern after all. It was a last minute decision and she was kind about it. A better experience compared to most is what I like to think. And I wasn’t hurt. I got a free book out of the meeting, so hey!

The best thing you can do is take these kinds of things in stride. I know now how the best way to act in an interview is: Be confident, do as much research as you can, and always be thankful. They’ll remember you for that. As for classes, they were canceled due to the ever wonderful blizzard this week. Though short lived that it was. I went to campus only to receive an email saying classes would not be open. Sad really. But what can you do?

I only have classes twice a week, so I suppose my objective will be to read, buy a bunch of books for class (the unending pain of college life), and find my groove to write again. This semester will be interesting. I’ll be focusing more on short stories, and linked stories/novels. Hopefully, I’ll learn enough to share with you guys. This semester will be interesting especially since I want to do a little more than the last.

My time is short here in the MFA and I need to put that time to good use, don’t you think?

I haven’t even been to class yet and I’ve learned two things: (1)Rejection is never bad, especially when you make yourself memorable my being you and (2) Do the most that you can and enjoy your journey. There’s no sense in doing things you won’t enjoy. And if it’s for something you want, something important, then push yourself. HIT THE SEND BUTTON!

I believe in you.

***

In the mean time, I’ll be back soon with some more updates/stories, etc., and hopefully some new advice or facts to share. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

