Nothing on My Page

Don’t say it’s writers block because I will be tempted to punch you. I can’t stand that people say that because I can’t write anything down I have writer’s block. It’s the complete opposite in fact.

I HAVE TOO MUCH TO SAY!!!

Can you imagine a time when you have so many ideas that you just don’t know where to even begin, so you don’t write? Or a time where you just had a number of options and just couldn’t choose which to start on?

I have that problem. In fact, I have several stories in the works, and unfortunately I can’t get anything down. You’d think this was a good thing, having so many ideas that you can’t count them. I can count them!

Eight.

That’s how many stories, so far, that I’ve come up with and it’s driving me crazy.

I’m sure I wrote in another post about a professor that said having multiple things to work on is never a bad thing. A writer always wants to keep busy because working on the same thing isn’t always productive. Frankly, things can lose their taste after a while, much like gum. Sometimes, you need a break. Writing other stories can often bring new ideas, give you a break so you can come back. (Personally, gnawing on a piece of Hershey’s chocolate always works for me).

Just saying.

You’ll feel refreshed with new insight when you go back to your older works. I, of course, don’t get to that because I CAN’T DECIDE WHAT THE HELL I’M GONNA

DO.

My god.

My brain hurts.

Please tell me I’m not the only one going through this. I think I’ll feel like a real troll if I’m the only one on this planet just unable to write because they have just too many things to work on. It sounds ridiculous!

It is ridiculous.

I think the worst part about it is that every time I try to write a short story, someone tells me it should be a novel. This has happened three times this semester in conference with my professor and my classmates during critique.

THREE TIMES.

How am I supposed to deal with that?

I write too much. That’s the only thing I can think of to explain this problem. Otherwise, I just can’t seem to get into writing succinct language. I just can’t write concisely enough that everything I want to say is delivered well enough. Not unless it’s a bigger piece.

It’s so sad.

I took a class a couple of weeks back on Resistance. It was a three hour course during a Saturday, meant to explore why it is that writers can’t write. I think I need to do some of the exercises again. I’m having a really hard writing short things. There is always going to be something to talk about in regards to literature: how much we hate/love Twilight, who’s better at killing off characters, George R.R. Martin or Stephen King, and why libraries need more funding so I can go in on Saturdays like I want. The problem is condensing what I want to say, and I just can’t seem to get that down. I have a couple of stories here and there on the blog that have been worked out well enough to be short. I just keep wracking my brain for something…

There are always going to be days, maybe even weeks when wrack your brain trying to think of things to say, things to do and things to share. I started this blog as a way to share stories I’ve written. I don’t have a lot of stories published, only two in an on-campus literary magazine from my undergrad (and they’re shared on the blog). I think that the more I consider publishing my stories, the more difficult it becomes to write them, to even post them. There’s this sense of indecision that I am going through right now, but I don;t want to stop doing this. Not when I can find people who genuinely want to read something that I write and amazingly enjoy it.

This blog is one of the few things that I’ve kept at without just giving up.

I’ll think of something.

Signed,
Girl with nothing on the page

Leave a Reply

