Progression

The past couple of day, nay weeks, have been suffocating. The sun is at war with me this unbecoming summer. And I am slowly withering under it’s attack. But fear not my friends, I will soak in water and digest lots of Twizzlers before I burn to a crisp.

I have been gone for quite some time and I must tell you the reasons. It is not laziness…necessarily. It is because I got a job. Yes! A job. A gloriously life draining position in life which all college and high schoolers and even grown ups must sell several years of their soul in order to live and provide for their families. As well as the betterment of society, etc, etc. Anyway, my job is…difficult. For me. I just want to sleep right afterward. Manual labor in hot weather is killer. But I have been keeping busy.

If you guys don’t know about it, try and check this out. I’ve been staying at a friends house for the summer. Fellow author in progress K.M. Alleena (she’s got blogs up her butt, I assure you). And she’s cool beans. I work at the job for a couple of hours a day, crash on the couch and write…or sleep until the pain in my feet goes away. Whichever feels better! But I digress. I have spent time here and we have been talking about our writing projects. While I share my love of fiction with you, K.M. publishes in magazines and what not. I was rejected, as most authors are, and decided a blog where I can get public opinion suits me better. Differences aside, she introduced me to not only her new kitten, but to http://campnanowrimo.org/

This thing is pretty cool. Basically, they set up a month where you have to write a novel, or whatever, based on a major word count. You can work on unfinished projects of you want, but you have to write to meet your goal and finish the work. I am currently writing a novel…well several, but I entered one. I’ve only had one other attempt at a novel in High School and got as far as seven chapters. To this day, it remains in the confines of my hard drive, never to be seen my human eyes. Other than my own with my shame filled tears. Just kidding…or am I?

I’ve had a tiresome time of getting adjusted to this work schedule, with the life sucking heat and aggressive sickness that is writer’s block. But have faith. Please, because I am about to run out. Can I borrow some from you guys?

Whatever you choose to do, look at it or not, I am currently participating in the Camp NanoWrimo which is for the month of this JULY. I just submitted my count, and it’s annoying. Every counter is different and I hate that sometimes what you think you wrote is not the same amount that their counter will approve. The DEPRESSION!!! Oh, the AGONY!!
I’ve written thus far, two chapters with one extra scene for background…which I am not sure where to put that in the story, but I should try to develop some new scenes while I am doing this. Everyday I have to write seven pages towards this. That should be a big challenge because I’m usually all or nothing.

In other news, I got invited by LinkedIn to write for them. Sounds fun. Any ideas for a topic?

What else…..Oh, yes. I found a story I worked on a while ago in my computer. I completely forgot about it. I edited it and I think I’ll be putting it up on the blog in a little while. It’s not very long, but I hope you guys like it. I’ll be looking at some more articles and writing that novel. Maybe, you guys can help me with title suggestions! I’ll figure out the synopsis, and when I do, you guys can give some suggestions. We’ll see what happens in the coming days.

In the mean time, stay writing and get it all out from the back of your mind.

 

Leave a Reply

