Summer for a Writer

So I’ve finally gotten myself out bed after a hectic week or two in order to write some stuff. No stories thus far, but I will work hard to write something soon. The pages of this blog are barren, and frankly it happens a little too much, I think.

I wanted to write a little bit about what’s been going on so far that has kept me away from the blog for so long. Well, finals week came and slapped me in the face. Mind you, I only had two finals, but they were Philosophy and English Grammar. Because everybody knows my grammar is BAD. Anyway, it turns out things were a lot easier on the exams than I would have expected. To the point where I over-studied for no reason. I really hate when Professors do that.

Then there was work, and packing, and did I mention I GRADUATED COLLEGE! Yeah. Four years of scrambling around and driving myself insane with a job, an internship and school work (so many loans) and I finally got a Bachelors degree in Creative Writing. Now I can sleep around all day in my apartment back home with my mom and write forever until I make millions on a novel, right?

WRONG!

I have to find a summer job now, because I am on my way to getting a Masters degree in the Fall. You gotta love being a writer.

I really don’t mind it; actually I’m really happy about it. I’ve always thought of continuing with my education, so I had a lot of paperwork to get through. I’m almost done now with it all and now I want to keep going. I wouldn’t mind one day teaching a creative writing course at a college. I think it would be fun to share what I’ve been taught and help other improve their work, too.

This, of course, means that I’ll be given more incentive for writing more material when the semester comes. I’ve already registered for courses, so it should be interesting. Thorough focus on your work is going to be tough, but I think I can manage taking criticism fairly well. I welcome it, though.

I wanted to also point out a website I’ve been on lately. It’s called Goodreads. I don’t know if anyone uses it, but I think it’s pretty cool. If you enter some of their contests you get free books. It’s really cool because you get read stuff that isn’t really out there yet. I got emailed by an author who gave me a free book, even though I didn’t win the contest. And I won another one a couple of weeks ago, which I am in the process of reading. The whole point of it is to give honest reviews back to the authors, so I’ve been doing that,too. I think it’s great, so if anyone is interested, try it some time. I’ve already gotten three books.

Anyway, I’m up and about now and not working yet, so I will be trying my hand at some new material. So wish me luck guys! And hopefully I’ll be back with some good stuff.

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

