Banned Book Week

So I don’t know if many people know this but “Banned Book Week” was during the last week of September. My University held a really interesting event for the day. So we were asked to pick a novel out of a list that was banned in the United States by the ALA (American Library Association). There are actually a lot of books that were banned that I never thought would be.

Did you know that James and the Giant Peach was banned? Apparently, it was banned for its content which could be viewed as sexual, and because of the physical and mental abuse the character goes through.

I thought that was really interesting seeing as how most readers probably wouldn’t view that as a problem nowadays. I mean, looking at the content of books we read now, like “Fifty Shades of Grey” (which I have not read), its a little extreme to ban such a book. But I suppose back when it first came out it was this big deal.

Anyway, I’m writing about this mostly because I thought it was an interesting event, and I wanted to share it, seeing as how this is a writing blog and all. We even got to see our own professor who is a publishing author because they

We had students read passages that best represented the work and why it was banned while Art Majors drew in chalk the covers of the novel on a building wall. I was considering posting pictures here. I wonder if I can. I’ll figure it out, give me a while.


I thought it was a fun thing to do. I got to read a passage from “To Kill a Mockingbird” while other students read books like:

Lord of the Flies, Great Gatsby, The Call of the Wild, Lovely Bones, Gone with the Wind, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter (series), and more.

It was interesting to see the artists draw on the walls while the readings were going on. I think I loved that part the most out of the whole event.

Students, freshmen, junior and senior, all gathered on the grass of the Art building and had their pictures taken while everyone did their part. It was sunny and just in general a very nice day.

Leave a Reply

